2009 Roadsport A Team Champions and Superlight R300 Championship Winners

Outstanding results at Snetterton took the DPR Motorsport Roadsport A team score to 458 points with a lead that exceeded the closest challenger by 14 points. Jon Walker sealed his victory in the new Superlight R300 championship with a race in hand at Snetterton. This convincing result added further victories to the credit of the DPR motorsport built and prepared R300 that claimed the first-ever R300 outright race win at the pit-stop invitation race at Donington in August 2008. This is a well-deserved individual win for Jon Walker and also for DPR motorsport as the championship winning entrant.

2009 Roadsport A Team Champions

Dpr Team principal David Rowe said “We were both pleased and surprised that we won the Roadsport A team championship. Other teams had up to five drivers contributing race points enabling them to select the best two results for each race. Our team had three drivers for the first four rounds reducing to two for the last three leaving zero margin for poor results due to the driver or in-race mechanical failures.

Ollie Smith gets pole and two wins in the DPR Caterham Roadsport A

“For the final round at Snetterton, our Roadsport A car was driven by Ollie Smith, an old school friend who has raced in single seater series and historics but with no prior Caterham race experience. Without any prior testing Ollie jumped into the DPR Motorsport Roadsport A in a very wet qualifying session to get pole. In an equally wet first race Ollie narrowly beat established rain master Jamie Orton to lead over the line to 1st place victory. Conditions changed overnight for a dry second race and despite constant pressure, this time from Raphael Florentino, Ollie was once again first across the line to gain not only his second race victory but the BRSCC Peter Swinger Memorial trophy.” said David Rowe

Ollie Smith said “Having seen the Caterham Roadsport championship close up I realise why it is so popular. The grids have maximum numbers and the drivers are all seriously competitive. Because the cars are all the same anyone in the leading pack has a chance of being first past the finishing post. Having driven the DPR Motorsport Caterham Roadsport A in both wet and dry conditions I was very impressed by the car set-up; this is one of the best balanced race cars I have driven. Given the relatively low costs compared to other forms of motorsport I can understand why this is such a well supported championship. Living in Dubai means that a championship entry is not an option but I would be keen to have the opportunity to participate in another Caterham race weekend.”

2009 Superlight R300 Championship Winners

At DPR Motorsport we take pride in how our cars and support facilities look in the paddock. Over a race weekend we only stop work when the post-race inspection and service work is 100% complete, no matter how much time this takes.

For 2009 the result has been the Roadsport A Team Championship alongside the remarkable achievement of Jon Walker in his outright win of the new Caterham Superlight R300 championship with a race to spare. DPR Motorsport was the only Caterham motorsport team to gain victories across more than one step of the Caterham motorsport ladder. These championship winning results appropriately reflect our high attention to detail for both the preparation and race-reliability of DPR supported race cars.

Our thanks go to our team technicians, drivers and sponsors

I would like to thank our technician Robert Springate who has worked extremely hard on and off the track as well as our race weekend technicians Gordon Harradine and Jimmy Skyers. My thanks and appreciation also goes to the drivers who we have worked with closely during 2009 being Jon Walker (R300), Magd Mohaffel (RSA) and Tony Bennett (RSA & R300). For the RSA Team Championship we also benefited from the contribution from Raphael Florentino. I would also like to thank Vaughan Cartwright of Real who has supported Robert in both his RSA and R300 race endeavours as well as working with us to develop an advanced resin-bead race seat specifically designed for Caterham racing.

For 2010 we will continue to focus on engineering attention to detail so that all of our clients can be assured that their DPR-supported race car will be prepared and set-up to our unique race-winning standards.

 David Rowe, October 2009