Jon Walker extends his championship lead in the DPR Motorsport prepared R300

Paul Wilson drove superbly to gain two well-deserved debut race wins at a surprisingly dry Silverstone GP circuit but it was Jon Walker, driving the DPR Motorsport prepared R300, who moved further into the championship lead for the final round at Snetterton. Autosport reporter Ben Anderson took the Caterham guest car to a 7th and 5th place and described his experience as the most intense and tactical duel I’ve ever contested.

Walker extended his championship lead to 15 points by achieving 3rd, 2nd and two fastest laps. Allowing for the all-important dropped scores, Walker has a total of 187 points followed by Sharrock and Draper on 172 with Wilson and Leroux on 168. With just two races remaining for the final round at Snetterton later this month, the new R300 championship promises a cliff-hanger finish.

Jonathan Walker said Having moved into the championship lead at Spa I am very focused on making sure I finish the race with a podium result rather than going for an outright race win. Getting extra points for the two fastest laps was a great boost to my championship position.


DPR Team Principal David Rowe said:

With the cars and drivers being so close our attention to detail for both car preparation and race set-up has been 100%. We have had to put in significant effort both in our workshop and in testing to get to this outcome and we will remain very focused for the final two races.

For this race weekend we were also looking after Ben Anderson in the Caterham guest car. Normally we would try different set-ups during pre-race testing but we only obtained Caterham’s R300 late Saturday afternoon. We managed an initial set-up but qualifying was a challenge. Ben gave us excellent feedback that enabled us to make a significant set-up change for race one. Despite qualifying low on the grid and having no prior experience of Caterham racing, Ben was able to get to 7th and then 5th overall for his race results.

Caterham Superlight R300 Championship Results after Silverstone

1. Jonathan Walker


2. James Sharrock


3. Matthew Draper


4. Paul Wilson


5. Jonny Leroux