Caterham Championship 2012: Congratulations to DPR customers with wins in all of the team-supported championships and top results in Caterham Academy 2012

Paul Wilson (1st) and Mark Shaw (2nd) in the driver’s championship provided DPR with a team win in the Caterham Superlight R300 team championship with a convincing lead of 86 points over the next placed team; DPR being the only Caterham team to gain wins in both the the driver and team championships. DPR customers Aaron Head and David Robinson claimed the Supersport and Tracksport championships respectively with Alexander Gurr in Academy Group One providing an Academy Championship win.

DPR Customers gain wins across the Caterham Grids

At DPR we provide support services across all steps of the Caterham Motorsport Ladder. For our Academy customers we provide car setups, technical advice and driver coaching. For the team supported championships we also provide circuit based support. Our particular congratulations go to the championship winners but as shown below (highlighted in green) DPR customers feature strongly in all of the championships.

  2012 Championship Winners
  Academy       Tracksport   Supersport   R300
  Group One   Group Two      
1st Alexander Gurr   Stephen Nuttall   David Robinson   Aaron Head   Paul Wilson
2nd Matthew Lawrence   Peter Fortune   Terry Langley   Lee Wiggins   Mark Shaw
3rd Matt Dyer   Michael Gazda   Jon Mortimer   Jeremy Webb    
4th Tristan Judge   Danny Killeen   Kurt Brady   Craig Currie    
5th Brian Caudwell   Oliver Andrew   Mike Hart        
6th Zoltan Csabi   Max Robinson   James Needham        

DPR Customers on the Pace

Whilst winning an individual race requires luck as well as skill, winning a championship requires consistent pace lap after lap in every race. At DPR we pay attention to all aspects of car and driver preparation ensuring 100% attention to engineering detail and effective driver coaching and support.

The lap record table below shows that 2012 was a record breaking year in all respects reflecting the increased emphasis on car and driver performance. Two-thirds (Sixteen from twenty-five) of the new lap records for 2012 in the table below were set by DPR customers. In each grid, the majority of the new lap records were set by DPR customers. Our thanks go to all of our customers who have supported our technical approach to Caterham motorsport. It is pleasing to see the results across all steps of the motorsport ladder.

  Lap Records Set in the 2012 Championships
  Silverstone   Oulton Park   Donington   Brands Hatch   Nürburgring   Snetterton   Rockingham
  Arena GP   International   GP   GP/Indy       200   SSL
R300 Mark Shaw   Mark Shaw   Paul Wilson   Paul Wilson   Ian Payne   Adam Balon   Mark Shaw
Supersport Carlton Brown   Aaron Head   Aaron Head   Craig Currie   Jeremy Webb   Aaron Head   Lee Wiggins
Tracksport Kurt Brady   James Needham   Jon Mortimer   Kurt Brady   Terry Langley   Jon Mortimer   Kurt Brady
Academy         Peter Fortune   Michael Gazda       Michael Gazda   Danny Killeen

DPR top of the Superlight R300 Grid

In the top-of-the ladder R300 championship, DPR drivers set 5 from the 7 new lap records. Long term DPR driver Mark Shaw has established himself as the fastest man on track with five out of the 17 lap records since the start of the championship. Whilst driving for DPR, Paul Wilson has set two lap records giving DPR drivers the highest number of lap records on the R300 leader board.


Caterham Superlight Lap Records set since the start of the championship

5 Mark Shaw   Oulton Park International   Rockingham Super Sports   Rockingham Super Sports Long   Silverstone Arena GP   Silverstone International South
2 Paul Wilson   Brands Hatch GP   Donington Park GP  
2 Jonny Leroux   Anglesey International   Spa-Francorchamps      
1 Paul Fleury   Brands Hatch Indy
1 Peter Young Castle Coombe
1 Ian Payne Nürburgring
1 Adam Balon Snetterton 200
1 Trevor Fowell   Donington Park National                
1 Simon Young Snetterton 300
1 JJ O’Malley Zandvoort
1 Ollie Taylor Zolder
17 DPR customers are shown highlighted in green. At circuit supported customers are shown in italic.